Joshua Stocker


Manifesto Part 2
December 6, 2009, 10:10 am
Filed under: Typography, University Work | Tags: , ,

The last two days I have both proved, and disproved my Manifesto on last minute design. The self designed piece, I felt came out well, I managed to write it, sketch out a design, photograph, edit, and finish the piece in the space of a day, Proving last minute design can work wonders! Last night was a different story though. I had no idea what to do with my redesigned manifesto, no ideas, I hadn’t even decided what movement to redesign. I sat at my desk from 7 in the evening, until 4am this morning, getting more and more frustrated, wasting time, watching 4od, and eating a total of 5 donuts. Finally at about 4:10 I got started on the redesign of my manifesto, and had it finished an hour later in time for an hours sleep. Its better than nothing, but for me, this really proves leaving your work till the last minute is in fact a terrible idea, its the pressure to perform which helps me achieve good work.

So with an hour of sleep, I got the stuff printed and cut, and got into class just a few minutes late. The crit left me feeling slightly frustrated though, I have no idea if what I did was right or wrong, what they were looking for, if its actually any good… nothing! Other than that it was good to see everyones work up on the walls of one room together, really loved some of the ideas people had for their manifesto’s especially “21st superhero”, “nerdism”, and “but they taste f****** awesome”

These are my finished manifestos below. The first, my own manifesto, the second, the Dada manifesto


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

