Joshua Stocker


Inspired Typography – Lawrence Weiner

Our latest brief set us the task of creating a short animated film containing Kinetic Typography (Typography which appears in time to speech). First we researched to find a short speech by a creative practitioner whose words we found inspiring. For me this was Lawrence Weiner, and what he talks about during an interview with Debbie Millman. Not only am I a massive fan of his work, but felt it fell perfectly to my vision of words appearing in footage.

His Work:

So I took his style of typography, and gave it life. I spent a weekend shooting footage, and a day and a half editing the film and sound, before finally creating the animation. I’ve been without a laptop for a week and a half which is why it was slightly rushed but I’m quite pleased with the outcome.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is really great! I found that original interview video on HillmanCurtis and have been going back to it here and there for little inspirational breaks. But this gave me goosebumps all over again!

Comment by Ryan C

You’ve done it again, Josh. Brilliant!

Comment by Jo Raynor

Wow I’ve never seen some of these pieces. I love Contemporary Art and Lawrence Weiner is one of my favorite artists. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

